Childlike

Today I was sitting outside at the park during my lunch lost in a book and the sweetness of the overcast and breezy spring weather.  Everything felt at peace as strangers silently enjoyed their lunch or engaged in small talk with a co-worker or friend.  And two children raced on their scooters full of excitement and without care.  It was like a dose of medicine for my tired mind: the combination of peaceful, mild weather and delightful children (and the addition of sidewalk chalk doodles near my feet made me smile a bit too).   It was somewhat of a reminder not let the day-to-day/routine/responsibilities smother my childlike spirit.


“The great man is he who does
not lose his childlike heart.”
– Mencius

Leave a Reply

